I completed my PhD in chemistry at Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile in July 2012, under the supervision of Prof. Alejandro Toro-Labbé. My PhD research  focused on  the formulation and application of theoretical frameworks to characterise chemical processes by employing Density Functional Theory (DFT) and hybrid Quantum Mechanics/Molecular Mechanics (QM/MM) approaches. During my PhD I was granted a Fulbright Scholarship and the L’Oreal-UNESCO Women in Science award. 

Between 2012-2015 I was a postdoctoral research in the Kamerlin group at Uppsala University. I then moved to the Department of Chemistry at University of Oxford within the Paton Group, where I held a Newton International Fellowship.

In January 2017 I joined the School of Chemistry at University of Edinburgh as a Chancellor’s Fellow. I recently moved to the Department of Chemistry at the University of Oxford.


Alyssa is an organic chemist trained in the synthesis, spectroscopic and electrochemical analysis of supramolecular and polymeric materials. She graduated a BS in Materials Chemistry from the University of California at Berkeley in 2010. After completing her PhD studies with 2016 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Sir Fraser Stoddart FRS, she relocated to the United Kingdom in January 2016 to launch her independent academic career as a research group leader in the Department of Chemistry at Durham University. There, she has been supported by a prestigious Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1951 Research Fellowship. In 2018, she was awarded a five-year Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowship and began her Lectureship (Assistant Professor) in Synthetic Molecular Materials at the University of York in January 2019.


To date Jennifer Hiscock’s research has centred on the study of Supramolecular Self-associating Amphiphiles (SSAs) in the solid phase, solution phase, gas phase and in silico. She now uses her understanding of these systems to produced next generation molecular weapons in the fight against antimicrobial resistance. 

© 2023 by Conferences Website. Proudly created with

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • RSS Social Icon